Cloud Folders are supported on the US East Region only. Therefore, sharing instructor Cloud Folders with students is available only for classes on US East.
As an Instructor, you can share a Cloud Folder with the students in class. When your Cloud Folder is shared, it is automatically mounted on every VM in every student's environment, giving all students in the class the ability to access any files in the folder.
A Cloud Folder is useful, for example, if you want to enable students to run a specific script that you prepared for the class. You can make the script available in your Cloud Folder, making it available for students to run directly on their VMs.
For general information about Cloud Folders, including how to upload files to your Cloud Folder, see Cloud Folders.
You can turn sharing on and off at any point before or during class from either the Instructor Console or the Class Details page. You choose the initial sharing setting when you create the class.
Cloud Folder mounting requires VMWare tools. The Cloud Folder will not appear on any VMs that are not running VMWare tools.
Before sharing your Cloud Folder, consider backing up important files, since you will be sharing full read-write access to all the files in the folder with the students.
Another good practice is to ask students to copy the files locally on their VMs before running them. This helps protect against accidental deletion or modification.
To toggle Cloud Folder sharing from the Instructor Console:
Click the Cloud Folders On/Off button at the top of the Instructor Console.
The Cloud Folder sharing setting will be toggled. The change may take up to a minute to be effective.
For a short period after changing this setting, the button is deactivated. It will then become active again to enable you to change it again if needed.
To toggle Cloud Folder sharing from the Class Details page:
Go to the Class Details page.
In the Access section, toggle the Share instructor's Cloud Folder with all students checkbox.
If the Cloud Folders feature is disabled, it can be enabled from the Project Settings page by any user with Project Manager role.
To prevent a specific student from accessing a Cloud Folder for the class, open a student's environment details page and unmount the folder for the specific student by clicking the Hide my Cloud Folder button.
To resume sharing the Cloud Folder with the student at a later time, open the environment details page again and click Show my Cloud Folder.
This will not affect the Cloud Folder sharing setting for the class.