During a class, instructors can broadcast a selected student's virtual machine so that other students can see it. Broadcasting a student VM can be useful if you want to provide a current live example to the class.
You broadcast the student VM via the Share with Students option.
A Project Manager from the same project used by your class can also broadcast a student's VM, as well as provide assistance to students. For more details, see the section Getting Assistance from Additional Instructors, in Assist Students During Class.
Sharing from Zoom In Mode
While using the Zoom In screen for a student, open the CloudShare menu:
Click Share with Students. The Select Sharing Recipients dialog is displayed:
Select the Sharing mode desired. You can select all students or specific students, as shown above. Then click Start Sharing. The currently active VM of the selected student will be shared with other students in the class.
You can broadcast VMs from multiple student environments at the same time. However, only one VM can be shared from a selected student environment at any time.
Sharing from the Students List
From the students list on the instructor screen, select the checkbox next to the student whose VM will be shared:
From the the actions menu, click Zoom In. A Zoom In screen will be displayed for the selected student.
From the Zoom In screen, click Share with Students, as detailed above. The currently active VM of the selected student will be shared with all other students in the class.
When a student VM is shared, a new tab is opened in other students' browers in order to display the shared VM. Existing browser tabs are not changed.
The selected student will be notified when their VM is being shared with the class:
As shown above, it is important not to refresh or close the browser window when sharing is active. If either action is performed, the shared connection will be lost and the student share will need to be recreated by the instructor.
When an instructor shares a student VM, the share is always focused on the VM active at the time sharing begins. Even if the selected student switches from one VM to another while sharing is active, the shared VM will not change for the student viewing.
Students can quickly navigate between VMs that are currently being shared with them by clicking on any of the icons displayed in the Training menu:
When broadcasting, only a single VM can be shared at a time for any shared student environment. If the instructor wishes to share a different VM for the student, the following steps are needed:
From the Zoom In screen for the shared student, open the CloudShare menu and click Stop Sharing.
Click the Take Over option to navigate to the specific student VM desired for sharing.
Re-share the student as detailed above.
When the Share with Students option is active, the Take Over option is not available.