Follow

Basic Terminology

My Environments: Your login landing page that lists your Owned Environments, Shared Environments, Current Licenses and the Create a new environment workflow. The links to Show actions log and Show deleted environments also appear on the My Environments page.

 

 Environment: Environments consist of machines, storage, CPU, networking, preinstalled software, and a description content page to which you can easily use for demos, development, testing and training of your enterprise software or IT systems.  

 

 Environment Networking: Machines in the environment are set up in a flat network. All machines in the environment can be accessible via their Internal IP address, as listed in the 'More details' section. 

 

 Assign Team Member (Collaboration): This workflow provides you the ability to invite people into your environment without giving them their own copy. This allows you to control who can access your environment and when. This workflow is a great way to bring other developers to your environment. Only one user can be on any one machine at a time, but all work is shared. Team Members will not be able to Take Snapshot, Revert, Delete Environments, and Invite others as these privileges will be centrally managed by the Environment Owner. Team Members will be able to Add/Delete machines and change the resources (RAM, Disk, CPU). The Environment Owner will receive an automated notification with the detailed list of changes which if acceptable then the owner can Take Snapshot to save the changes or the Revert feature which rolls back the changes made by the Team member.

 

 Web Access (Collaboration): The Web Access URL is a static address per machine and will remain as long as the environment does. When a user accesses the URL, they will see the root site collection of the Web Application set on port 80 in your farm, and can navigate to any other sites below that. Very often you don’t want to give individuals full access to your environment, or even the machines themselves. If you have a web driven application with web access feature, you can provide access to the portal by sharing this static URL.In addition to port 80, we have also enabled access to ports 443, 3695, 8080 and 8000-8010 to be used for your web applications.

 

 Permalinks (Collaboration): Permalinks are permanent links, or permalinks, of your CloudShare ProPlus environment. By using a permalink, you can grant an unlimited number of people access to your live, IT environment containing your content just by posting or emailing the permalink. Share your expertise by posting a link to your environment on Twitter, Facebook, your blog, website or other channels – wherever and however you would like people to access it. Demo your environment to an audience and leave everyone with hands-on, dedicated copies of your environment by sharing a permalink to the content you just discussed. For training, grant a full training or development “sandbox” to every student just by sending them the URL in advance of the course. Permalinks work just like invitations. Anyone clicking on your permalink will access a dedicated clone (their private copy) of your environment that they will be able to use, configure and edit for 48 hours - for free. Changes that they make in their environment do not affect yours.  If they wish to keep the environment after that time, they will need to purchase a license and “Take Ownership” of the environment. You have the ability to monitor and track the usage from the Environment Views from this link” field found on your View environment page. This feature will be available once you complete taking a Snapshot.

 

Take Snapshot: You can take a snapshot to save the state of your environment - complete with the state of applications that are currently running. You can have one snapshot since each subsequent snapshot will overwrite the previously saved one. You will need to Take Snapshot in order to use the Share a Copy, Permalink or Revert to last snapshot functions.

 

 Revert to last snapshot: The undo all action provides the ability to restore your environment state to the most recent saved Snapshot. You also have the ability to use the "Revert" functionality on an individual machine to restore its state to the most recent saved snapshot.

 

 Environment resource use: This gauge measures the amount of resources your environment will consume. CloudShare ProPlus subscribers can edit the resources for each machine (RAM, Disk and number of CPUs), increasing the environment size.

 

 Edit descriptions: The environment description allows for rich text, including different fonts, colors and highlights as available in the editor. You can also include pictures and other content links (i.e. pdf documents) which are already accessible via a URL. The editor will automatically embed these elements. The environment description is displayed in a box in the view environment page of every user you invite.

 

Running (State): The state of the Machine and or the Environment which is available for access. 

 

 Suspended (State): A dormant state of your environment. CloudShare provides its service for a fantastically low price because we suspend the environment when you are away. We consider an environment active when you are accessing its machines using our web pages.Inactivity threshold is set to 30 minutes for limited accounts and 60 minutes for ProPlus accounts.Sometimes, you need the environment to stay alive a little bit longer. To that effect, we have added, for ProPlus users, the ability to extend the environment inactivity timeout up to 180 minutes. if you need more, try our Always On option.

 

 Preparing (State): Preparing appears when an environment is first resumed from suspend by clicking the View Environment button from your homepage. Preparing also appears when you change the resources of a particular machine within your environment. The time it takes for the environment to be ready depends on the number of machines and resources used. In most case, the environment will be ready in less than 5 minutes but may take up to 10 minutes. However, you will be able to access each machine as they become available.

 

External Address: This is your external address as assigned to a specific machine and is listed under the 'More details' link in each machine's description. Upon each environment resume, you will be assigned a new External address. 

 

View Environment:  This functionality will resume your suspended environment or allow you to view your running environment.

  

 Always On: A self-service option enabled through Policy management in TeamLabs and Enterprise.  

Was this article helpful?
7 out of 7 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk